## Eva Sorensen elected new CACHE Trustee

Prof Eva Sorensen is the Chair of the Department for Chemical Engineering at University College London (UCL) in London, United Kingdom. Eva has an MSc and PhD in Chemical Engineering from the Norwegian University of Science and Technology, and an MA in Education from UCL. She joined the Department of Chemical Engineering at UCL in 1996 and is currently Professor in Chemical Engineering. Eva is a Chartered Engineer with the UK Engineering Council, a Chartered Scientist with the UK Science Council and a Fellow of the Institution of Chemical Engineers (IChemE) and a Fellow of the Higher Education Academy (HEA).



Eva's research interests are mainly within the area of optimisation and control of fluid separations, in particular related to distillation processes. She has authored over 100 papers and a number of book chapters. She was co-editor and author of *Distillation: Fundamentals and Principles* which won the 2015 PROSE Award in Chemistry & Physics. Eva was Chair of the European Federation of Chemical Engineering (EFCE) Working Party on Fluid Separations from 2007 to 2013, and has chaired the Organising Committees and Scientific Committee for several Distillation & Absorption Conferences, last in 2018. She also served on the EFCE Executive Board from 2011 to 2017.

Eva has a longstanding interest in education and she was awarded the IChemE's Morton Medal 2017 in recognition of her "outstanding work in the field of chemical engineering education" and she was awarded a Fellowship of European Society for Engineering Education (SEFI) in 2018 in recognition of her "meritorious services to engineering education in Europe". Eva is a Senior Member of the AIChE and has contributed to a number of sessions organised by the Education Division.

Eva is a member of the IChemE's Education & Accreditation Forum, member of UK Engineering Council's Engineering Accreditation Board, Chair of the Portfolio Board for Natural Science and Technology for the Research Council of Norway, and she served as Editor-in-Chief of Chemical Engineering Research and Design from 2010 to 2021.